Obsiba Road District, Grenty of Whangarria Edword Norton Bourk

sall ralel stepp M. melili h

James Sincasan. Edwin Vyle.

Glanborrio Read District, County of Winesparat:

14. That sit pensities for infringement of the above have will summarily be recovered before the Resident Magistrate or Justices of the Peace.

#### Elawkers.

15. All pedlars and bankers trading within the County of Kaikours shall pay an anatral licensing Land St.



## SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

# NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

OF

## THURSDAY, AUGUST 21, 1884.

Published by Authority.

### WELLINGTON, FRIDAY, AUGUST 22, 1884.

Special Order made by Wairarapa East County Council.

Masterton Road Board dissolved.

Colonial Secretary's Office, Wellington, 21st August, 1884.

THE following special order, made by the Wairarapa East County Council, is published in accordance with "The Counties Act 1876 Amendment Act, 1882."

W. MONTGOMERY.

#### SPECIAL ORDER.

This Council hereby, by special order, dissolves the Masterton Road Board; appoints Robert Wilsone as Returning Officer; and orders that the election of a new Board for the Masterton Road District shall be conducted under "The Regulation of Local Elections Act, 1876."

Regulation of Local Electrons Act, 10.0.

I certify that the above special order dissolving the Masterton Road Board has been duly made.

F. G. Moore,

Clerk.

County Council Chambers, Masterton, 14th August, 1884.

By-laws made by Kaikoura County Council.

Colonial Secretary's Office, Wellington, 21st August, 1884.

THE following by-laws, made by the Kaikoura County L Council, are published in accordance with "The Counties Act 1876 Amendment Act, 1882."

W. MONTGOMERY.

#### BY-LAWS.

#### Nuisances.

ANY person guilty of any of the following acts, offences, omissions, or neglect within the county shall, on conviction, be liable to pay a penalty not exceeding £5:—

1. Neglecting to clean out any private yardway, passage, or avenue, by which neglect a nuisance, either by offensive smell or otherwise, is caused.

2. That all nightsoil or other offensive matter be removed, by means of a nightsoil cart provided by the Local Board of Health, at least once a fortnight, or as often as required, and a sum of 1s. will be charged by the nightman appointed for a four-gallon bucket for such removal; and if, in the opinion of the Health Officer, hotels and other places of public resort require removing more frequently the same shall be done at the same cost for each removal.

3. Allowing any nightsoil or other offensive matter to be

3. Allowing any nightsoil or other offensive matter to be cast upon any road, street, footway, public place, or thorough-

4. Opening or obstructing any drain, or removing the surface of any footway or carriage-road, without the consent or authority from the Council.

or authority from the Council.

5. Placing any water-closet, privy, or cesspool in such a position as to create a nuisance.

6. Having on any premises, or under the control of the owner of any such premises, any excavations for the reception of excrementitious matter.

7. Allowing any manure-heap to accumulate until it becomes a nuisance.

8. Throwing any filth, dirt, rubbish, or other offensive matter of whatever kind, or any dead animal, into creek, dam, drain, or watercourse in the county, or burying any dead animal within the boundary of the town riding.

9. Throwing any glass, filth, dirt, rubbish, or any other matter of a similar nature upon any street, footway, court, alley, or public place whatever.

10. Having any closet unprovided with a well-constructed box or iron pan, or other approved movable receptacle, for excrementitious matter, or having the same sunk below the surface of the ground,

surface of the ground,

surface of the ground,

11. Throwing out any ashes in an inflammable state.

12. Keeping any swine within two chains of any dwelling-house or street, or in any position which the Health Officer may deem injurious to public health.

13. All nuisances which shall, in the opinion of the Inspector of Nuisances or Health Officer, be deemed detrimental to the public health shall be at once removed on notice being given by the officer of the Local Board of Health. given by the officer of the Local Board of Health.

14. That all penalties for infringement of the above laws will summarily be recovered before the Resident Magistrate or Justices of the Peace.

15. All pedlars and hawkers trading within the County of Kaikoura shall pay an annual licensing fee of £2.

Adopted and passed by the Kaikoura County Council, at a special meeting of the said Council, field the 16th days of June, 1884. The common seal of the county was at the same time affixed and impressed baseto and hereon by orders of the Council, by the Chairman, in the presence of—

WALTER GIBSON, Chairman.
S. W. MAXTON,
GEORGE RORRISON,
GEORGE RORRISON,
Check Check.

I, George Renner, Clerk, Kaikoura County Council, do hereby certify that the foregoing by-laws have been made by the Kaikoura County Council, and that all the provisions of the Counties Acts in respect thereof have been complied with.

GEO. RENNER, County Clerk.

#### Road Board Elections.

Colonial Secretary's Office,
Wellington, 21st August, 1884.

THE following notices of Road Board elections are published in accordance with "The Road Boards Aot, 1882."

G. S. COOPER, Under-Secretary.

Whareora Road District, County of Whangarei:

William Bissett. Samuel Dent. John McKinnon. Robert McLeod. Finlayson Smith. Otaika Road District, County of Whangarei: Edward Norton Boult. John Duzer.

William Morgan. James Smeaton.

Edwin Vyle.

Glenbervie Road District, County of Whangarei: William H. Clements.

James Falls: Mathew Handin Hutchinson. Frederick Smith. William H. Woolley.

Maunu Road District, County of Whangarei:

Mathew Watson Armstrong.

William Brooker.

Tahn Cha-

John Shaw.

Charles Tothill. James Irwin Wilson.

Kensington (late Whangarei) Road District, County of
Whangarei:
George Edwin Alderton.
Peter Kassidy Devlin.
Harry Hawkin.
Robert Mair.
Malcolm J. McDonald.

Clutha Road District, County of Clutha:

Western Subdivision

William Christie.

George Henry Slawson. John Somerville,

Eastern Subdivision— William Dalgliesh.

John Geggie. Donald Stewart.

By Authority: George Didsbury, Govt. Printer, Wellington.